Student Paper Prize

About the Student Paper Prize

The EASIAM (East Asia section of SIAM) Student Paper Prizes are awarded every year to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) submitted to the EASIAM Student Paper Prize competition. This prize is solely based on the merit and content of the student's contribution to the submitted paper. The purpose of the Student Paper Prizes is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in applied mathematics or scientific computing. Each recipient of the EASIAM Student Paper Prize shall receive a framed certificate and a cash prize of US$300. Normally, up to three awards will be bestowed.
However, this year, up to five awards will be bestowed due to the fact that none was bestowed last year.


For this round of competition, the applicant must be a Ph.D student currently or a recent Ph.D graduate (within two years of her/his thesis defense on the application deadline) in universities of East or Southeast Asia.


To enter the competition, each applicant must submit (1) a short vitae including her/his list of publications and (2) the complete paper. In addition, the student's advisor must submit a letter that describes and evaluates the paper's contribution to the literature and the student's role in the publication.

Notification of Prize Winners

The EASIAM President will notify the candidates who have been selected for the award by May 20, 2016. The candidates are required to present their works in the 2016 EASIAM conference in Macau.


Deadline of the submission is February 28, 2016. Please send your submission via Email to the Secretary of EASIAM, Assistant Professor Somkid Amornsamarnkul. (

Note that those candidates submitted last year (submission deadline being June 30, 2015) need not resubmit their documents, whereas submission of updated or additional documents is allowed.

Previous Prize Recipients



  • 1st Prize: Shun SATO (The University of Tokyo, First prize)
  • 2nd Prize: Zhao ZHI (University of Macau, Second prize)
  • 3rd Prize: Phusanisa LOMTHONG (Mahidol University, Third prize)
  • 3rd Prize: Kaibo HU (Peking University, Third prize)


  • 1st Prize: Kensuke AIHARA (Tokyo University of Science, First prize)
  • 2nd Prize: Qinglin TANG (National University of Singapore, Second prize)
  • 2nd Prize: Jiang YANG (Hong Kong Baptist University, Second prize)


  • 1st Prize: Xiaohao Cai (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, First prize)
  • 2nd Prize: Wei Yang (Xiangtan University, Second prize)
  • 2nd Prize: Yuto Miyatake (The University of Tokyo, Second prize)


  • 1st Prize: Xuanchun Dong (National University of Singapore, First prize)
  • 2nd Prize: Zhenning Cai (Peking University, Second prize)
  • 3rd Prize: Seogjeong Lee (Seoul National University, Third prize)


  • 1st Prize: Yongyong Cai (National University of Singapore)
  • 2nd Prize: Lei Du (Nagoya University)
  • 2nd Prize: Chiun-Chang Lee (National Taiwan University)
  • 3rd Prize: Akitoshi Takayasu (Waseda University)


  • 1st Prize: Kensuke Aishima (The University of Tokyo)
  • 2nd Prize: Zuliang Lu (Xiangtan University)
  • 3rd Prize: Tomoyuki Miyaji (Kyoto University)


  • 1st Prize: Yucheng Hu (Peking University)
  • 1st Prize: Hyoseop Lee (Seoul National University)
  • 2nd Prize: Takeshi Fukaya (Nagoya University)
  • 2nd Prize: Hengki Tasman (Institute of Technology Bandung)


  • 1st Prize: Takehiko Kinoshita (Kyushu University)
  • 1st Prize: Takafumi Miyata (Nagoya University)
  • 2nd Prize: Ho-Seok Lee (KAIST)
  • 2nd Prize: Byung Hwa Lim (KAIST)
  • 2nd Prize: Naoya Yamanaka (Waseda University)
  • 3rd Prize: Ying Ying Zhang (University of Macau)


  • 1st Prize: Shipeng Mao (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
  • 2nd Prize: Yumei Huang (Hong Kong Baptist University)
  • 3rd Prize: Chien-Hong Cho (Kyoto University)
  • 3rd Prize: Alexander Shapeev (National University of Singapore)